An Introduction To: Denise Humphrey

DENISE HUMPHREY

Continuing from our piece on North East illustrator Sarah Hall we thought we may as well continue on our journey through the North and would introduce you to Denise Humphrey.

Denise Humphrey is a Newcastle based Graphic Designer/Artist who likes to dabble in the world of Anglo-Japanese Geisha Art, who currently has some of her work on exhibit at The Biscuit Factory in Byker and The Saltburn Gallery, Artsbank in Whitby.

Howl Club caught up with Denise and she gave us the low down on her work:

Inspiration for most of my digital art comes from my fascination with the mysterious world of the Geisha. I am interested in visually fabricating the emotions, mystery, beauty and tradition of Japanese Geisha, Geiko and Maiko. My creative process begins with a drawing as sketching allows me to visualize and imagine the completed work. My creations are heavily influenced by manga and especially by some of the artists of the Superflat movement (Chiho Aoshima, Yoshitomo Nara and Makoto Muramatsu). This can be seen in some of the more surreal geisha images.

I am also intrigued and influenced by the wood block artists of 17th Japan (Katsushika Hokusai, Hishikawa Moronobu and Kitagawa Utamaro) and pictures of the floating world (ukiyo-e ). I adore the evanescent, impermanent, fleeting beauty and simplicity of this style. I try to recreate the intensity and colours used in these pictures in my own artwork, using the medium of Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop with the help of Bezier curves to create my characters. The wonderful thing about using this method is that my artwork can be transferred to anything which has a printable surface.

To see some of Denise’s work head to here or have a look at some of our favorite pieces.

Marudashi

Leave a Reply

